• Marcel Levi
  • Caroline de Gruyter
  • Priya Verghese
  • Jurgen Floege
  • Bin Yang
  • Hans Zaaijer


Professor Marcel Levi is chief executive of University College London Hospitals (UCLH) and Professor of Medicine at UCL. He is a consultant in Acute Medicine and Hematology at UCLH. Previously he was Dean of the Faculty of Medicine of the University of Amsterdam and Chief Executive of the Academic Medical Center in Amsterdam. Earlier he obtained a MSc degree at the University of Oxford in Evidence-based Health Care and worked at the University of Perugia, Italy and the Center for Transgene Technology and Gene therapy of the University of Leuven, Belgium. He has published more than 700 articles in scientific journals and has been awarded a number of international research awards. He was chairman of the Netherlands Organization for Health Research and is currently chairman of the scientific board of several national charities, including the Dutch Heart Foundation, and the AIDS fund. He became a member of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Science in 2008 and is a fellow of the Royal College of Physicians in the United Kingdom.


Caroline de Gruyter is a Europe correspondent and columnist for the Dutch newspaper NRC Handelsblad. She is currently based in Oslo.
She has covered European politics for over twenty years, from Brussels and elsewhere in Europe. She has won several awards. Her voice and expertise about Europe are well-known in The Netherlands and beyond.
Caroline is also a columnist for Foreign Policy, a regular contributor to Carnegie Europe, and a member of the European Council on Foreign Relations. She was previously based in the Gaza strip, Jerusalem, Brussels (twice), Geneva and Vienna. Her fifth book, exploring the parallels and differences between the Habsburg Empire and the European Union, was published in March 2021.


Professor Priya Verghese, MBBS (MD), MPH is a pediatric nephrologist with Ann & Robert H. Lurie Children’s Hospital. Having been born and brought up in the United States, she moved to India at the age of ten and eventually secured admission into one of India’s top five medical colleges. She returned to the USA to complete pediatric residency at the University of Illinois at Chicago where she declined an invitation to be chief resident to pursue a pediatric nephrology fellowship and a subsequent transplant fellowship at the University of Washington while simultaneously earning a degree in the Master of Public Health in Epidemiology. She moved to Minnesota in July 2009 where she served over a decade as a nephrologist, a medical director for pediatric kidney transplant, and the president of the hospital clinical service unit board.
She moved to Chicago and started as Division Head of the Pediatric Nephrology Division at Ann & Robert H. Lurie Children’s Hospital on January 2nd, 2020. Since her arrival, she has navigated the challenges of the pandemic and revamped the division to reduce patient wait times, create a unique service model to meet the needs of the patients, increase the division’s research profile and formalize the educational curriculum of the nephrology training program for medical students, residents and fellows.


Professor Jürgen Floege trained at Hannover Medical School. His particular interest in renal diseases developed during various research periods in physiology, pharmacology, nephrology and pathology at Hannover Medical School, Germany, the Albert Einstein College of Medicine, New York and the University of Washington, Seattle, USA. He was appointed as head of the Division of Nephrology and Immunology at the University of Aachen, Germany in 1999.
Professor Floege is a former executive council member of the International Society of Nephrology (ISN), the European Renal Association (ERA-EDTA), and KDIGO, a society developing world-wide nephrology guidelines. He is a Distinguished Fellow of the ERA-EDTA and recipient of the 2018 ERA-EDTA Award for Outstanding Clinical Contributions to Nephrology, immediate past-president of the German Society of Nephrology as well as honorary member of the Japanese, Polish, Portugese, Serbian and Slowakian Societies of Nephrology. Since April 2019 he is president of the German Society of Internal Medicine, Europe’s largest professional medical society. Together with Professors Richard Johnson, Marcello Tonelli and John Feehally he edits the best-selling textbook “Comprehensive Clinical Nephrology”. Finally, Professor Floege is associate editor of Kidney International since Jan 2018 and currently is a member of the editorial board of Journal of the American Society of Nephrology, Journal of Nephrology and others. Until 2017 he served as associate editor of Nephrology, Dialysis Transplantation.
Research interests encompass both basic research, i.e. studies underlying progression of renal disease in particular renal fibrosis, as well as clinical research in immune-mediated renal disease, in particular IgA-nephropathy, as well as bone and mineral disorders (CKD-MBD) and cardiovascular disease in uremic patients.
His scientific work encompasses about 585 original papers, reviews and editorials, and 40 book chapters.


Bin Yang, Honorary Professor, currently works at the Department of Infection, Immunity and Inflammation, University of Leicester.

Professor Yang does research in Systems Biology, Immunology and Human Biology, with focuses on mechanisms and interventions of acute kidney injury and associated chronic kidney disease. The aims of studies are to define and validate potential biomarkers in both animal and human samples, and also to evaluate the short and long-term effects and cell target delivery of siRNA, erythropoietin (EPO) and its derivatives HBSP and CHBP.


Professor Hans L. Zaaijer (Rotterdam, 1956) is chief medical microbiologist at Sanquin Blood Supply Foundation and clinical virologist at the Amsterdam University Medical Centre. He is professor of blood-borne infections at the University of Amsterdam. Zaaijer has specialized in blood-borne infections since 1992. He co-authors guidelines for the prevention of iatrogenic HBV/HCV/HIV infection, for the handling of needlestick accidents, the screening of blood donors and the screening of organ and tissue donors. His team studies emerging infections; and the yield, costs and ethical fairness of blood safety measures. Zaaijer took part in governmental committees of the Dutch Health Council concerning the future of the national vaccination programme, HBV vaccination, Q-fever and the screening of at-risk groups for HBV and HCV. He serves as chairman of the Dutch National Committee for Prevention of Iatrogenic Transmission of HBV, HCV and HIV.